Corbett prize


The Corbett Prize is awarded to a young scientist for an outstanding contribution given at the ICDS. It consists of a monetary prize and a prize certificate signed by the conference chair. The prize is named in memory of James W. Corbett (1994), one of the pioneers in the field of defects in semiconductors, who always helped and encouraged young researchers. The prize has been awarded at every ICDS since 1995.


  • Candidates must be less than 35 years of age at the first day of the conference
  • Only one abstract per candidate will be considered for the Corbett Prize.
  • Invited speakers and committee members are not eligible

Corbett prize winners

2021 (Oslo, Norway):

Robert Karsthof, Researcher at University of Oslo, Norway (PhD in 2018)

2019 (Seattle, USA):

Kunal Mukherjee, PhD at University of California, Santa Barbara, USA (PhD in 2014)
Christian Zimmermann, PhD student at University of Oslo, Norway (PhD in 2020)

2017 (Matsue, Japan):

Liwen Sang, Independent scientist at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 2010)
Elena Pascal, PhD student at University of Strathclyde

2015 (Espoo, Finland):

Thomas Auzelle, now scientist at Paul-Drude-Institute in Berlin, Germany (PhD in 2015)
Jan E. Stehr, assistant prof at Linköping University (PhD in 2011)

2013 (Bologna, Italy):

Daniel José da Silva, now post-doc at KU Leuven (PhD in 2014)

2011 (Nelson, New Zealand):

Ben Green, now research scientist at Element Six, UK (PhD in 2013)

2009 (St Petersburg, Russia):

Yoshihiro Gohda, now professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan (PhD in 2003)
Pavel Petrov, now senior scientist at Ioffe Institute, Russia (PhD in 2001)
2007 (Albuquerque, USA):

Fadwa El-Mellouhi, now senior scientist at Qatar Energy and Environment Research Institute, Qatar (PhD in 2006)

2005 (Awaji Island, Japan):

Hannes Raebiger, now professor at Yokohama National University, Japan (PhD in 2006)
Savas Berber, now professor at Gebze Technical University, Turkey (PhD in 2004)
Sukit Limpijumnong, now professor at Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand (PhD in 2000)

2003 (Aarhus, Denmark):

Naoki Fukata, now group leader at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 1998)

2001 (Giessen, Germany):

Benjamin Hourahine, now lecturer at University of Strathclyde (PhD in 2000)

1999 (California, USA):

Ant Ural, now professor at University of Florida (PhD in 2001)

1997 (Aveiro, Portugal):

Joanne E. Gower, King’s College London
Tomas Hallberg, Linkoping University, now Deputy Research Director at Swedish Defence Research Agency (PhD in 1995)
Tomi Mattila, Helsinki University of Technology, now Senior Scientist at VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (PhD in 1997)

1995 (Sendai, Japan):

Yasunori Mochizuki, now Vice President for Central Research Laboratories, NEC Corporation (PhD in 1987)
Kohei M. Itoh, now professor at Keio University, Japan (PhD in 1994)

    Publisert 3. juli 2019 11:04 - Sist endret 19. aug. 2021 11:33