The scientific program will last from Monday (26/7) morning until Friday (30/7) lunch. The conference has traditionally hosted two parallel sessions as well as a few plenary presentations, and a similar program is pursued in Oslo as well. However, with a hybrid version of the conference and the uncertainty related to travel restriction, the program format will be dynamic and we are considering both asynchronous and live online events. Nonetheless, we do aim to satisfy the interests of the community and offer an inspiring and interactive program. A more detailed program will be announced later.

Confirmed invited speakers

Stephanie Simmons    
   “Silicon telecom colour centres”

Brett Johnson    
   “Imaging defects in silicon carbide"

Michael Scarpulla    
   “Shining the spotlight on defects in Ga2O3 “

Cyrus Dreyer    
   “Computational spectroscopy for point defects.”

Anaïs Dreau    
   "Broad diversity of near-infrared single-photon emitters in silicon".

Jean-Phillipe Tetienne    
   "NV centres in diamond as local probes of fields, strain and temperature”

Atsushi Oshiyama    
   “Amphoteric nature of Mg-dislocation complex in GaN”

Eduard Lavrov    
   “Hydrogen in anatase TiO2”

John Lyons    
   "First-principles studies of band alignments and doping of AlGaO alloys".

Xie Zhang    
   “First-principles assessment of defect tolerance in halide perovskites”

Mark Turiansky    
   "Single-photon emitters in hexagonal boron nitride"

Marina Radulaski    
   “Integrated quantum photonics in Silicon Carbide”

Weibo Gao    
   “SiC NV centers for quantum applications”

Judith Wörle    
   “Defect analysis in 4H-SiC using low-energy muons”

David Scanlon    
   “Designer Dopants for Improved Transparent Conducting Oxides”

Jinwoo Hwang

   "Atomic scale investigation of point and extended defects in gallium oxide"

Anna Vinattieri

   "The Urbach tail in inorganic halide perovskites"

Haruo Sudo
   "Activation of Oxygen Precipitation in Ultra-High Temperature RTP Wafers"

Tim Niewelt

   "Mitigation of LID and LeTID in photovoltaics - facets of hydrogen introduction"

Confirmed invited tutorial lectures

Audrius Alkauskas

   "Basic principles  and optical properties of defects from first principles calculations"

Nguyen Tien Son

   "Optically detected magnetic resonance of defects: from fundamentals to qubits"

Adam Gali

   "Ab initio theory of defect qubits in solids"

Alain Portavove

   "Mapping of the lattice in real space: atomic probe topography"

Anders Hallen

   "Capacitance spectroscopy of defects"

Michael Stavola

   "Infrared spectroscopy of defects"


Tutorial day

Tutorial lectures will be available online prior and during the conference. 

Program – July 26-30

The length of each session (talk+discussion in minutes) is as follows: Plenary 40+5, Invited 35+5, Contributed 15+5. We plan to have several Plenary sessions (two talks each) on Mon, Tue, and Thu. 18 parallel oral sessions, that consist of one invited + three contributed talks in parallel sessions (1+3 and 3+1: no two invited talks should overlap), hence we expect a grand total of ~80 talks. The poster sessions are Tuesday and Thursday afternoon. The finer details of the programs and the final format will be decided after consultation with the Program Committee.


About the Corbett Prize

The Corbett Prize is awarded to a young scientist for an outstanding contribution given at the ICDS. It consists of a monetary prize and a prize certificate signed by the conference chair. The prize is named in memory of James W. Corbett (1994), one of the pioneers in the field of defects in semiconductors, who always helped and encouraged young researchers. The prize has been awarded at every ICDS since 1995.


  • Candidates must be less than 35 years of age at the first day of the conference
  • Only one abstract per candidate will be considered for the Corbett Prize.
  • Invited speakers and committee members are not eligible

How to apply:

To be announced.

Publisert 3. juli 2019 10:39 - Sist endret 7. apr. 2021 14:25